Music Research Guide
Musical records on a variety of media are available in the are available on the second floor of Darbeth Listening Lab.
- Deets Library Catalog
- The section of the Library Collection dealing with music is found using call numbers M1 on the 2nd floor. A simple outline of the topics in this section:
- M1-M5 — Musical works (scores)
- ML54.6 — Writings about music and musical style
- ML385– Biographies of musicians
- ML430 — Notation and performance practice
- ML457 — Instruments
- ML1460 — Voice, opera, musical theater
- ML2880 — Church music
- ML3470 — Popular and jazz
- MT1 — Music education
- MT6 — Music theory
More than 50,000 selected records of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments.
The Digital Archives currently include historic material from 1943-1970 including programs, marked scores and orchestral parts, business documents, photos, and more.
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.
This site was developed by Library and Archives Canada, which is the official repository for the archives of the late concert pianist, Glenn Gould. A supremely gifted artist and Canada’s most renowned classical musician of the 20th centurey, Gould was a recording artist, radio and television broadcaster and producer, writer and an outspoken apologist for the electronic media.
Pipedreams is an American Public Radio program which is devoted to the organ and its literature.
An extensive online encyclopedia of organ stops and other organ-related topics.
Themefinder is a non-profit collaborative project of the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH) at Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory at the Ohio State University.
This is a directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.
More than 200,000 scores and nearly 20,000 recordings, all freely available in the public domain.
All hymn tunes printed anywhere in the world with English-language texts up to 1820, and their publication history up to that date.
Dick Spottswood’s 15 LP series of recordings and booklets documenting the American folk song and dance between 1890 and 1976.
The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. The Digital Collection of East African Recordings consists of over 1,600 discrete musical performances recorded by East African ethnomusicologist Centurio Balikoowa.
Streaming recordings of the Stradivari Quartet/Iowa String Quartet, a faculty quartet at the University of Iowa from 1960-1996. The collection also includes a documentary about the quartet, produced in 1969.
A reference library and archive for Irish traditional music and dance. The library includes sound recordings, images, and digitized books and scores from the library’s collections.
Online ear training tool.
Award-winning music theory website.
Music Organization Websites
MTNA has nearly 22,000 members in 50 states and more than 500 local affiliates. It provides support and advocacy for music teachers.
A professional networking site for the global online choral community. Includes forums, links to choral organizations, and recent choral news. Operated by the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA).
The premier membership organization for the strings community. ASTA changes lives through music.
The association is dedicated to fostering communication and fellowship of clarinetists on a worldwide basis through publishing a quarterly scholarly journal, The Clarinet, producing an annual clarinet festival, ClarinetFest®, supporting a research library with materials available to all members, and promoting a variety of other endeavors related to the clarinet and clarinet playing.
The IHS website provide information on membership and programs, directories, audio files, forums, and classified advertising.
The International Tromboe Association is the largest association of trombonists with 4,000 members from 69 countries. Formed in 1972, ITA’s mission is to promote the trombone and all trombone-related activities across the world.
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
ASCAP collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.