English Literature and Languages Research Guide

 
English Lit&Lang Search

English Lit&Langs Search
Limit Your Results

Books
Deets Library Catalog
The print collection for fiction by author last name is on the main floor of the library. Also on the main floor are sections for poetry and drama. Literature criticism and author collections can be found in the P section on the 2nd floor. A simple outline of the topics:

  • PN — General Literature
  • PL — Asian and African Language and Literature
  • PQ — French, Italian, & Spanish Literature
  • PR — English Literature
  • PS — American Literature
Ebrary Language and Literature eBooks
Literature eBook Collection
Credo Reference Literature
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field’s most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

 

Articles
Bloom’s Literature
Database of works and analysis. Formats include video and full text
LION – Literature Online
Search works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose and full-text literature journals
Literary Reference Center
Combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals.
Literature Resource Center 
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
JSTOR
Archived articles are from scholarly journals in political science, history, philosophy, mathematics, business, art, literature, language, music, religion, etc.
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collection
Various sources with full text focusing on poetry, drama, and prose.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering the hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species to Gun Control.

 

Language Resources
Mango Languages
Courses in 71 Languages. App required on mobile devices.
A State Library of Kansas library card provides access. Visit the library to get started.
Websites
Schomburg Center for Research on Black Culture
Romantic Circles
Contemporary Postcolonial & Postimperial Literature in English
Luminarium
English Renaissance
First World War Poetry digital archive
Repository of texts, podcasts, videos, interviews and other primary source material for the works of British poets during the World War One.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Organized portal to a range of electronic resources in mediaeval studies, including databases, services, texts, and images. Also includes patristic, liturgical, and grammatical texts of interest to classicists. Hosted at Georgetown University.
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832
TEAMS Middle English Text
Victorian Women Writers Project
Scholarly Resources for Victorian Research
Women Romantic Era Writers

 

Chat 24/7